It was a packed house at the Eden Gardens as Mumbai Indians took on the Chennai Super Kings in the final of the Pepsi IPL 2015 (IPL 8). MS Dhoni won the toss and to everyone’s surprise opted to field first. The opening pair for the Mumbai Indians came out to the middle and they were followed by the men in yellow. Things didn’t really start the way Mumbai would have wanted it to as they lost Parthiv Patel for a golden duck. He was run out to a brilliant piece of fielding by Faf Du Plesis. Rohit Sharma came in at no 3 to steady the ship for the Mumbai Indians.

After getting off to a shaky start it was the 2nd over of the match which completely shifted then momentum towards the Mumbai Indians as Rohit Sharma took Mohit Sharma to the cleaners scoring 16 of the over. The Chennai Super Kings never got back into the game after that over as Lendl Simmons and Rohit Sharma scored 119 runs for the 2nd wicket. Rohit Sharma scored 50 off 26 balls before getting out to Dwayne Bravo. MS Dhoni brought Dwayne Smith into the attack and the change worked as he removed Lendl Simmons for 65.

At that point it looked like Chennai are getting back into the match as Mohit Sharma bowled a very good 16th over giving away just 5 runs. But the over which followed was a complete disaster as Pollard and Rayudu scored 23 runs of the 17th over bowled by Ashish Nehra and that over virtually knocked Chennai out of the match. At the end of 20 overs Mumbai posted a huge total of 203 on the board setting the Chennai Super Kings a target of 204. The Chennai Super Kings didn’t get off to a good start as they managed to score only 23 runs in their first 5 overs. In the quest of scoring quick runs Mike Hussey got out and things started to get worse for the Chennai Super Kings. Dwayne Smith and Raina tried to rebuild the innings but they could manage to that as Dwayne Smith looked completely out of touch and Suresh Raina’s bad form in the IPL continued.

Dwayne Smith struggled and somehow go to his fifty but got out very soon after that. MS Dhoni promoted himself in the order and came out to bat at no 4. Soon after Raina got out and the match became one sided after that. MS Dhoni tried his best to keep Chennai in the game but even he got out and with him the hopes of the CSK fans also died. After his dismissal the result was inevitable and it was just a matter of time before the Mumbai Indians players would get their hands on the trophy. Wickets kept on tumbling but somehow CSK saved themselves from getting all out as they finished at 161/8 in their 20 overs. With this win Mumbai won their second title and interestingly both the times Mumbai played the final at Eden Gardens and against the same opposition (Chennai Super Kings).

The Chennai Super Kings have been the most consistent team in the IPL as they have always made it to the top 4 and have made it 6 times to the final and won 2 of them. But the question that arises here is that will they ever win it for the 3rd time. The last time they won the IPL was in 2011. After that they have been in 3 finals and lost all of them.

Previous article5 Apps to Keep Yourself Fit
Next articleThe Haunted Hotel in Mussoorie: Savoy
A cricket fanatic, sports geek and a person who can contribute to any discussion. Mostly. Someone who tries to live life on my own terms, well... I try to. Get in touch: