The second season of the Indian Premier League took place in South Africa due to the Lok Sabha elections in India. The format of the tournament remained the same and so did the number of teams participating. The tournament began on 18th April 2009. The first match was between the Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians won that match by 19 runs thus starting the tournament on a high note.

The points table this time was dominated by the Delhi Daredevils and the Chennai Super Kings as they finished 1st and 2nd in the points table respectively. The Delhi Daredevils won 10 out of 14 matches whereas the Chennai Super Kings won 8 out of 14 matches. The Royal Challengers Bangalore who had finished 7th last year played some brilliant cricket to finish 3rd in the points table winning 8 out of 14 matches. The Deccan Chargers who were at the bottom of the table last year finished 4th in the points table this year winning 7 out of 14 matches. The Kings XI Punjab and the defending champions Rajasthan Royals didn’t make it into the semifinals this time finishing 5th and 6th respectively in the points table. The Mumbai Indians after getting off to a good start didn’t live up to the expectations and finished 7th in the points table winning 5 out of 14 matches. The Kolkata Knight Riders yet again had a bad campaign as they finished at the bottom of the table winning just 3 out of 14 matches.

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR For Against
Delhi Daredevils 14 10 4 0 0 20 +0.311 1978/255.2 1953/262.4
Chennai Super Kings 14 8 5 0 1 17 +0.951 2086/255.3 1855/257.1
Royal Challengers Bangalore 14 8 6 0 0 16 -0.191 1994/276.0 2027/273.2
Deccan Chargers 14 7 7 0 0 14 +0.203 2111/272.4 2097/278.1
Kings XI Punjab 14 7 7 0 0 14 -0.483 1787/251.2 1887/248.3
Rajasthan Royals 14 6 7 0 1 13 -0.352 1688/253.1 1810/257.5
Mumbai Indians 14 5 8 0 1 11 +0.297 1897/256.2 1802/253.4
Kolkata Knight Riders 14 3 10 0 1 7 -0.789 1757/248.5 1867/237.5


The first semifinal took place at the SuperSport park in Centurion between The Delhi Daredevils and The Deccan Chargers. The Deccan Chargers defeated the Delhi Daredevils by 6 wickets with 2.4 overs to spare to make it to the finals for the first time. The second Semifinal between The Chennai Super Kings and The Royal Challengers Bangalore was played at Johannesburg. The Royal Challengers Bangalore won comfortably by 6 wickets with 1.1 overs to spare making it to the final for the first time along with the Deccan Chargers.

The final was played on 24th may at Johannesburg between the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Deccan Chargers. After batting first the Deccan chargers made a very modest score of 143 in 20 overs. In reply Royal Challengers Bangalore fell short by 6 runs and the Deccan Chargers won the second season of the Indian Premier League. Adam Gilchrist the captain of the Deccan Chargers was named as the player of the tournament. The Deccan Chargers who finished at the bottom of the table last year were the champions this year. It was a massive turnaround by them and a lot of credit had to go to the captain Adam Gilchrist who led his troops brilliantly.


Short Highlights of the final:


Previous articleDevastating pictures of Kashmir Flood
Next articleKings XI Punjab – IPL 2015
A cricket fanatic, sports geek and a person who can contribute to any discussion. Mostly. Someone who tries to live life on my own terms, well... I try to. Get in touch: