The third edition of the Indian Premier League was back in India after the second edition of the tournament was hosted by South Africa. The tournament had the same number of participants and the format remained the same.

The first match of the tournament was played between the defending champions Deccan Chargers led by Adam Gilchrist and the Kolkata Knight Riders led by Sourav Ganguly. Batting first KKR posted a total of 161 on the board. In reply the Deccan Chargers fell short by 11 runs.

The points table didn’t change much from the previous season. The Chennai Super Kings continued their good form from the past editions finishing in the third place winning 7 out of 14 matches. Despite of a bad start the Deccan Chargers finished second in the points table winning 8 out of 14 matches. The Royal Challengers Bangalore who were the runners up last time finished fourth in the points table winning 7 out of 14 matches. The Mumbai Indians dominated the points table throughout the tournament winning 10 out of 14 matches.

Team Pld W L NR Pts NRR
Mumbai Indians  14 10 4 0 20 +1.084
Deccan Chargers 14 8 6 0 16 –0.297
Chennai Super Kings  14 7 7 0 14 +0.274
Royal Challengers Bangalore  14 7 7 0 14 +0.219
Delhi Daredevils 14 7 7 0 14 +0.021
Kolkata Knight Riders 14 7 7 0 14 –0.341
Rajasthan Royals 14 6 8 0 12 –0.514
Kings XI Punjab 14 4 10 0 8 –0.478


The semifinals were held on the 21st and 22nd April and both the matches were to be played at the DY Patil stadium in Navi Mumbai. The first semifinal was between the Mumbai Indians and the Royal Challengers Bangalore. The match was a one sided affair as the Mumbai Indians won comfortably by 35 runs making it to their first ever IPL final. The second semifinal was between the Deccan Chargers and the Chennai Super Kings. CSk batted first and posted a very modest total of 142 in their 20 overs. In reply the Deccan Chargers were bowled out for 104 and thus Chennai Super Kings made it to the final for the second time.

Before the final a third place match was kept between the loosing team of the two semifinals. The match was a very one sided affair and the Deccan Chargers batting first were bowled out for 82 and in reply the Royal Challengers Bangalore comfortably chased down the total and won by 9 wickets.

The final was held on 25th April at the DY Patil stadium in Navi Mumbai. The match was a total sellout. The Chennai Super Kings batting first posted a total of 168 in their 20 overs. In reply the Mumbai Indians fell short by 22 runs . The Chennai Super Kings won the third edition and their first ever IPL.


Final highlights:

Previous articleKings XI Punjab – IPL 2015
Next articleRoyal Challengers Bangalore – IPL 2015
A cricket fanatic, sports geek and a person who can contribute to any discussion. Mostly. Someone who tries to live life on my own terms, well... I try to. Get in touch: