The fifth edition of the Indian Premier League began on 4th April 2012. The number of teams participating in the tournament had reduced from ten to nine as the Kochi Tuskers Kerala were terminated from the IPL. This season registered the highest viewership of the IPL recording 163 million viewers again last year’s 162 million. This season was also the most competitive season as it produced 19 last over finishes and a couple of them went down to the last ball.

The first match of the tournament was between the defending champions Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians. The Mumbai Indians won the match comfortably by 8 wickets as they chased down a total of 113 with ease.

The Delhi Daredevils had a dream season as they finished first in the points table winning 11 out of 16 matches. The Kolkata Knight Riders finished second as they continued their good form from the previous season winning 10 out of 16 matches. The Mumbai Indians finished at the third position winning 10 out of 16 matches. The Chennai Super Kings were very lucky to make it to the top 4 as they edged past the Royal Challengers Bangalore on a better net run rate. Both the teams won 8 out of 16 matches but the Chennai Super Kings qualified on the basis of a better net run rate and hence the Royal Challengers Bangalore finished fifth in the points table. The kings XI Punjab finished sixth in the points table winning 8 out of 16 matches. The Rajasthan Royals took the seventh spot winning seven out of 16 matches. The Deccan Chargers finished second last winning 4 out of 16 matches. The Pune Warriors India continued their bad form as they were at the bottom of the table winning 4 out of 16 matches.

Team Pld W L NR Pts NRR
Delhi Daredevils 16 11 5 0 22 +0.617
Kolkata Knight Riders (C) 16 10 5 1 21 +0.561
Mumbai Indians 16 10 6 0 20 −0.100
Chennai Super Kings (R) 16 8 7 1 17 +0.100
Royal Challengers Bangalore 16 8 7 1 17 −0.022
Kings XI Punjab 16 8 8 0 16 −0.216
Rajasthan Royals 16 7 9 0 14 +0.201
Deccan Chargers 16 4 11 1 9 −0.509
Pune Warriors India 16 4 12 0 8 −0.551


The first qualifier was played between the Delhi Daredevils and the Kolkata Knight Riders on 22nd may 2012 in Pune. Batting first Kolkata Knight Riders posted a good total of 162 to which in reply the Delhi Daredevils fell short by 18 runs and the Kolkata Knight Riders qualified for the finals for the first time ever. The Eliminator between the Mumbai Indians and the Chennai super Kings was played in Chennai. The Chennai Super Kings posted a huge total of 187 batting first and in reply the Mumbai Indians fell way short as they lost the match by 38 runs. The second qualifier between the Delhi Daredevils and the Chennai Super Kings was also played at the same venue. The match was a one sided contest as the Chennai Super Kings cruised into their third final in a row as the Delhi Daredevils lost the match by 86 runs. The final between the Kolkata Knight Riders and the Chennai Super Kings was also played at the same venue. Batting first Chennai yet again posted a very good total of 190 in their 20 overs. In reply the Kolkata Knight Riders began in the worst possible manner as they lost Gautam Gambhir in the very first over. Kallis and Bisla then steadied the ship for the Knight Riders as they took the attack to the Chennai bowlers. Manvinder Bisla and Kallis put on 136 runs for the second wicket as the Kolkata Knight Riders won the match by 5 wickets and winning their first ever Indian Premier League title.

Players and support staff of Kolkata Knight Riders celebrate with the trophy after their win against Chennai Super Kings' in the Indian Premier League (IPL) final cricket match in Chennai, India, Sunday, May 27, 2012.  Kolkata Knight Riders won the match by five wickets. (AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi)

Previous articleChennai Super Kings – IPL 2015
Next articleWhat went wrong with Indian Football?
A cricket fanatic, sports geek and a person who can contribute to any discussion. Mostly. Someone who tries to live life on my own terms, well... I try to. Get in touch: